Covid-19: Nigeria limits int’l flights to Lagos, Abuja airports, increases restricted countries to 15

Posted: March 20, 2020 in general


Nigeria has added two European countries to the list of 13 nations already on travel restrictions over the spreading corona virus (covid-19) pandemic.

On Friday, Nigeria added Sweden and Austria to the list of high-risk countries bringing a total of 15 nations restricted from entering the country.

It would be recalled that Nigeria had, Wednesday, placed travel restrictions on entry into the county from 13 countries with high-burden of coronavirus.

The countries include; China, Iran, South Korea, Germany, Italy, United States, United Kingdom, Switzerland, Norway, Netherlands, Spain, France, and Japan.

Nigeria also announced a temporary suspension of visa-on-arrival policy.

Making the latest announcement, in Abuja, Friday, Nigeria’s Minister of Health, Dr Osagie Ehanire, said the restrictions take immediate effect and until further notice.

Meanwhile, in a related development, the Nigerian Civil Aviation Authority has also restricted all international flights into the country to the Murtala Muhammed International Airport (MMIA), Lagos and the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport (NAIA), Abuja.

Director-General of NCAA, Capt. Musa Nuhu, in a letter to airline operators, dated March 19, said the directive was as a result of the Federal Government’s travel ban on some countries.

Nuhu said the directive would take effect from 12am on Saturday, March 21.

According to him, the country’s other international hubs including; the Mallam Aminu Kano International Airport, Kano, Akanu Ibiam International Airport, Enugu and Port Harcourt International Airport, Omagwa, would be closed to all international flights.

The DG also stated that all persons arriving in Nigeria who might have visited the countries affected by the travel ban 15 days prior to arrival, would be subjected to supervised self-quarantine and testing for 14 days.

“The travel restriction is applicable to all flight crew from the affected countries. All operators wishing to operate into Nigeria are required to operate with two sets of flight crew; one set to operate into Nigeria and one set to operate out of Nigeria,” said Nuhu.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s