Tanzania scraps grading fees for tourist hotels

Posted: November 17, 2017 in general
Tags: ,

TanzaniaTanzania has abolished fees paid by hotel owners to the grading teams barely eight months after the system was launched.

Minister for Tourism Dr. Hamis Kigwangala who announced the development, Monday, had been known to be against the fees in the grading exercise for tourist hotels in Tanzania.

Kigwangala had maintained that the classification exercise has been wrongly carried with hotel owners paying a uniform fee amounting to  US$ 3,500 to grading teams against the government procedures on rating Tanzania’s accommodation establishments.

Grading and classification of tourist accommodation establishments was  a requirement by the East African Community (EAC) regional plan aimed at marketing the region as single tourist destination with standardized accommodation and other services offered through hotels, lodges and wildlife camps.

Hotel owners and managers had also raised complaints over the high and quoted classification fees set by the grading teams, saying the exercise was expensive to most of them.

However, the Hotels Association of Tanzania (HAT) Chief Executive Officer Ms. Nura-Lisa Karamagi said the grading exercise of Tanzania hotels and lodges was vital in marketing Tanzania along with other EAC member states.

“We are looking mostly on quality service delivery that would compete with other EAC members, also thinking of the quality of our hotel services we offer”, she said.

In August this year, the Ministry of natural Resources and Tourism which has been carrying out the Grading exercise released a list of Five to One Star hotels, lodges and camps.

Tanzania has about nine Five Star hotels located in Arusha and Dar es Salaam with 19 Four-Stars, 65 Three-Stars, 81 Two-Stars with a number of hotels rated One-Star class.

Serena Hotel, the Kilimanjaro Hyatt Regency and Sea Cliff were the bona fide five-star tourist accommodation facilities located in Tanzania’s commercial capital of Dar es Salaam on the Indian Ocean coast.

The three hotels were rated Five Star Class in August this year using the Criteria for Standardization of Tourism Facilities developed under the auspices of the East African Community (EAC). The grading and classification exercise began early this year.

Classification of tourist class hotels and other accommodation establishments is being executed by the East African Community (EAC) in all five member states of Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda, and Burundi.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s