UNESCO adds 21 new sites to World Heritage List

Posted: July 12, 2017 in general


The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO)’s World Heritage Committee, which has been meeting in Krakow, Poland, since July 2, closed its annual session, Wednesday, with the announcement of the inscription of 21 new sites on World Heritage List.

The committee also extended or modified the boundaries of five sites already on the List, just as it also approved the withdrawal of the Simien National Park in Ethiopia and the Comoé National Park in Côte d’Ivoire from the List of World Heritage in Danger, while adding one more site to the List.

The new inscriptions bring to 1,073 the total number of sites on the World Heritage List. Angola and Eritrea saw their first sites join the List during the present session.

The new natural sites are: Los Alerces National Park (Argentina), Qinghai Hoh Xil (China), Landscapes of Dauria (Mongolia/Russian Federation).

The new cultural sites are: Mbanza Kongo, Vestiges of the Capital of the former Kingdom of Kongo  (Angola), Valongo Wharf Archaeological Site (Brazil), Temple Zone of Sambor Prei Kuk, Archaeological Site of Ancient Ishanapura (Cambodia), Kulangsu: a Historic International Settlement (China), Venetian Works of Defence between 15th and 17th centuries: Stato da Terra – western Stato da Mar (Croatia, Italy, Montenegro).

Others are: Kujataa Greenland: Norse and Inuit Farming at the Edge of the Ice Cap (Denmark), Asmara: a Modernist City of Africa (Eritrea), Taputapuātea (France), Caves and Ice Age Art in the Swabian Jura (Germany), Historic City of Ahmadabad (India), Historic City of Yazd (Islamic Republic of Iran), Sacred Island of Okinoshima and Associated Sites in the Munakata Region  (Japan), Hebron/Al-Khalil Old Town (Palestine), Tarnowskie Góry Lead-Silver-Zinc Mine and its Underground Water Management System (Poland), Assumption Cathedral and Monastery of the town-island of Sviyazhsk (Russian Federation), Khomani Cultural Landscape (South Africa), Aphrodisias (Turkey), and the English Lake District (United Kingdom).

The extensions to existing sites include: Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and Other Regions of Europe (Albania, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Italy, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Ukraine) [formerly “Primeval Beech Forests of the Carpathians and the Ancient Beech Forests of Germany” (Germany, Slovakia, Ukraine)], W-Arly-Pendjari Complex  (Benin, Burkina Faso) [formerly “W National Park of Niger” (Niger)], Bauhaus and its Sites in Weimar, Dessau and Bernau [formerly “Bauhaus and its sites in Weimar et Dessau”], Germany, Strasbourg: from Grande-île to Neustadt, a European urban scene [formerly “Strasbourg – Grande Ile”], France.

The Committee decided on a significant reduction in the perimeter of the Georgian site of Bagrati Cathedral and Gelati Monastery, withdrawing Gelati Monastery from the List of World Heritage in Danger.

The Historic Centre of Vienna, on the other hand, was added to the List of World Heritage in Danger. The site of Hebron/Al-Khalil Old Town was inscribed simultaneously on the List of World Heritage and on the List of World Heritage in Danger, which presently numbers 54 sites.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s