Ghana announces visa waiver for all African nationals

Posted: March 16, 2016 in general
President John Mahama

President John Mahama

Ghana’s President John Dramani Mahama, Sunday, announced that the country will begin to offer visas on arrival to citizens of all 54 African Union (AU) member states starting in July.

Mahama made the declaration while delivering his State of the Nation address.

Ghana currently offers visa free entry for citizens of 15 countries within the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).

The country’s new visa policy is big news in Africa where, according to the African Development Bank (AfDB), only 25% of the countries offer visas on arrival to nationals of other African nations. Put another way, it is easier for North Americans to travel within the continent than it is for Africans.

Only the Seychelles is known to have an open access visa policy applicable to citizens of all AU member states. As part of his independence day speech, Mahama also advocated more unity across the continent by urging his countrymen to learn French, the official language of more than half of the countries in Africa. English is the official language of Ghana, but it is bordered by francophone countries like Burkina Faso, Ivory Coast, and Togo.

Opening its doors to other African nations could be crucial for Ghana. The travel and tourism industry accounts for 5.9% of its GDP. Mahama did not say whether the new policy would include business visas, but at a time when foreign direct investment on the continent is falling, the country could benefit from opening its doors.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s