SA’s Tourism minister to open 2015 Business Traveller Africa Conference & Awards

Posted: August 24, 2015 in general

South Africa’s Minister of Tourism, Derek Hanekom, will deliver the opening address at the fourth annual Business Traveller Africa Conference & Awards at The Maslow Hotel in Sandton, Johannesburg on 1 September 2015.

Times Media Events and Business Traveller Africa magazine – in association with headline sponsor Absa and corporate partners ABTA (African Business Travel Association), Air France-KLM, ASATA (Association of Southern African Travel Agents), British Airways, ExecuJet Africa, Kerzner International, Thebe Reed Exhibitions, and Travelport – will be hosting the event.

Launched in 2012 in association with Business Traveller Africa magazine, the awards ceremony is an event for the South African business travel trade, covering all aspects of business travel, including hotels, airlines, car rental and travel management, along with related categories such as travel credit card provider, foreign exchange, visas, private aviation and conferencing.

The nominees in the various categories were announced last week. In total, 21 awards will be handed out, including the ‘Travel Personality of the Year’ award, which in previous years has gone to outgoing Avis CEO and OUTA Chairman Wayne Duvenage (2012), Comair CEO Erik Venter (2013), and ASATA CEO Otto de Vries (2014).

Duvenage returns to the event as one of three panellists in discussion about the changes to South Africa’s visa regulations, together with SAA’s Chief Commercial Officer Sylvain Bosc and the Chairperson of the Board of Airline Representatives of South Africa (BARSA), Carla da Silva, who is also the Air Mauritius Regional Manager for Africa and Latin America.

A second panel discussion will take the form of the event’s first ever ‘corporate travel buyer roundtable’, which is expected to provide valuable insight into the issues affecting the relationship between South Africa’s corporate travel buyers and their suppliers.

The Business Traveller Africa Conference & Awards will also feature a keynote speech delivered by Mavuso Msimang, the Chairman of the Tourism Business Council of South Africa (TBCSA).

Sun International’s The Maslow Hotel will host the Business Traveller Africa Conference & Awards ceremony for the third time.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s